True Cost of Fast Fashion

Reblog of my favourite Eco Textiles Blog. As I have worked in high end fashion industry previously http://www.brunopieters.com and http://www.honestby.com I have followed this blog for many many years. Today they wrote an article which is accessible for everyone as there is less technical or chemical terms used. They mention Phthalates and BPA (Bispenal A) chemicals in cheap clothing and how you can smell the harmfull chemicals whenever walking into a certain shop. The stores they mention are all international or US based, however I believe a few UK retail chains fit this description perfectly. Do you pay attention to the ‘smell’ whenever you enter a shop? Mainstream Toy Shops smell just as chemical.

O ECOTEXTILES

Summer has been beautiful in Seattle this year – and I’ve been taking advantage of it.  My month turned into almost two months – I just couldn’t bring myself back to the computer.  But now I’m refreshed and ready to go again.

We’ve often had people question why organic sofas cost “so much” – and I’ll address that next week.  This week let’s talk about what has become known as “fast fashion” – the idea of moving the newest trends from the catwalk to the store quickly to capture the newest design trends.  And the consumers are responding:   A Cambridge University study[1] found that  people were buying a third more clothes in 2006 than they were in 2002, and women have four times as many clothes in their wardrobe than they did in 1980.  And they get

rid of a similar amount.   oscar-wilde-FAST-FASHION-quotes

Fast fashion is all about having trendy…

View original post 911 more words

I love and value your comments, the way to let me know you read a post!

