A little spot of Paradise in Belgium

The toilets, oh my god the toilets, when first arriving at this theme park on Wednesday I was sold even before entering. The toilets were fabulous, they reminded me of toilets in picturesque hotels in Thailand, they even had a fountain inside and they were super super clean! They won me over even before passing the official entrance.

IMG_7105.JPGThe park on a weekday is very relaxing. Walking there was making me totally zen.

Pairi Daiza (formerly Paradisio) is a privately owned 55-hectare (140-acre) zoo and botanical garden located in Brugelette in the province of Hainaut in Belgium. It only opened it’s doors to the general public in 1993 as a bird garden and has since developed into a full grown Zoo.

The site used to be the former Cistercian Cambron Abbey, but is home to over 4,000 animals. The old buildings of the Abbey have either been renovated to very high standars and other parts like the church tower are preserved as a ruin giving a very special atmosphere. IMG_7101.JPGThe gardens are magnificent and have different themes representing different parts of the world. It looks very authentic and has been really well done. The animals section are integrated seamlessly and it comes across as if you are really in the countries but without it’s heat, and the dirt. IMG_7085.JPGIMG_7088.JPGPeacocks, flamingo’s and Pelicans walk around freely, there are giant heated tents for the more tropical birds with many hanging walkways (unfortunately not pram accessible). IMG_7116.JPGIMG_7124.JPGUnder the tower was the big bat cave, you could walk inside it and be surrounded by bats flying and sizzing around. Quite an experience, and in a different way impressive then bat caves in Borneo where the bats are far above your head. Here they were really sitting or flying cm away from you.IMG_7112.JPGMy best friend, her daughter and my goddaughter joined us in the afternoon and the girls had a blast together. Hugging each other all the time. Running around everywhere and I got some good baby cuddles and a relasing afternoon with my best friends. Just what I needed. IMG_7128.JPGThe park also has botanical gardens and a very large collection of special stones, like these large tree stems that are now petrified wood. IMG_7160.JPG

The garden of Ganesha – Indonesian garden

The buildings and landscaping between the different animals are very good replica’s or well inspired on the buildings in their natural countries. I can’t stress it enough I think this Zoo has done amazingly well and is very well maintained. IMG_7168.JPG

African Village IMG_7182.JPGIMG_7276.JPG

IMG_7190.JPGIMG_7194.JPGIMG_7279.JPGIMG_7287

Monkey Jungle inspired on Maldidi islands

IMG_7339.JPG

IMG_7334.JPG

IMG_7332.JPGVery entertaining squirrel monkeys who like to be pet, and then climb all over you. A monkey even jumped onto the head of my goddaughter who is now 10 months old. While she was sleeping. Luckily she was well and safe on my friends’ back with a hood and extra head protection, nevertheless it makes for a story to remember and tell when she is all grown-up.IMG_7244.JPG

IMG_7240.JPGIMG_7239.JPG

Chinese Garden and adorable panda’s

IMG_7357.JPGIMG_7352.JPGIMG_7349.JPG

 

IMG_7369.JPG

I had never seen a real Panda, but definitely not a Red Panda yet. How cute! Look at that fur! IMG_7370.JPGIMG_7372.JPG

Thi visit was amazing! I will definitely try to get a annual pass next year. I have seen Singapore Zoo, New York Zoo and London Zoo and must say I was not expecting to be so impressed by a Belgian Zoo. The animals seem as free and as close as in the Singapore Zoo and the setting and gardens are so so much nicer then the London Zoo.

It’s worth a visit and if you visit Belgium with kids, don’t miss out for a day of fun at he reasonable* (preice versus quality) priced Pairi Daiza.

http://www.pairidaiza.eu/

  Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

6 responses to “A little spot of Paradise in Belgium

  1. Pingback: Country Kids from Coombe Mill | Coombe Mill·

  2. You had me at the toilets! This zoo looks absolutely stunning and as for the architecture – stunning! I love the way that they have used this space to incorporate all the animals. It is so beautiful. Welcome to PoCoLo, thank you so much for linking :)

    Like

  3. I love the look of this zoo, there is something about zoo’s outside of the UK where you get so much closer to the animals, it must be something to do with UK health and safety. I also feel London zoo lacks space which is not great for the animals. This looks wonderful in every way, I love all the different zones involved, what a great visit. Thank you for sharing with me on Country Kids.

    Like

I love and value your comments, the way to let me know you read a post!